Iain Shedden, Sumishta, Keith & Lode

The original Line-up of 13 Frightened Girls

13 FRIGHTENED GIRLS started off life as one Californian named Sumishta who played her songs around Los Angeles to having a 4-peice band a year after she moved to London in 1988.

In that first year after producer Phillip Tenant saw Sumishta play live at the Market Tavern in Islington
13 FRIGHTENED GIRLS which were by then a full 4-piece band, and offered free recording time at Martin Rushent's (producer and owner) Genetic Studios whose past recording artists included Altered Images and The Buzzcocks!!

Unfortunately, Martin Rushent sold the studio in the midst of the recordings. There still seems to be a mystery as to the whereabouts of the master tapes.

In 1990, 13 FRIGHTENED GIRLS recorded the single, LOST AT SEA, produced by Pat Fish of The Jazz Butcher  at Raven Studio owned by The Nivens songwriter and frontman, Howard Turner.

About a year or so later
13 FRIGHTENED GIRLS signed to Stephen Street's (Blur and Smiths, Morrissey producer) Foundation Label. LOST AT SEA was pressed as a 12" only, with HOUSE OF MIRRORS and the lush MOVE IN ME.

the promo picture for the "Lost at Sea" single

Photo: Rchard Crawford

sort of went through the "exploding drummer syndrome" for a while. After (the sadly late) Iain Shedden, previously with The Saints. left the band, Sonny Flint sat in for a very brief few months in which he played a good many gigs around London. Brian Alexis was the last drummer who graced 13FG with his shy but sensitive and talented approach.

Keith Williams, Sumishta, Brian Alexis, Keith Gilles
When Brian joined the band


13 FRIGHTENED GIRLS played as a four-piece band up until 1993 and after continued briefly under the name TWIG with Simon Marrow on bass for several live gigs. For a couple of years, Sumishta played solo before returning to the original 13 Frightened Girls band name she started with.

Since that time, Keith and Sumishta recorded an 11-track CD, 13 FRIGHTENED GIRLS
"SAY HELLO" available on their own OZMOSIS UK label.

Towards the end of 2017, 13 FRIGHTENED GIRLS completed their long awaited 11-song follow-up album aptly titled 'GOOD NATURED', on the
OZMOSIS UK labei and can be purchased to download through CDBaby.com
Good Natured cover